top of page

About ACCA Qualification.

Who is ACCA?

Association of Chartered Certified Accountants

The ACCA is one of the largest and fastest growing international accountancy bodies. Being around for over a century means that it has successfully built a reputation for quality and excellence. The ACCA qualification is recognised all around the world for its high standards of expertise, professionalism and ethics. Employers across the globe seek out ACCA-trained professionals – because they know they have the strategic thinking, technical skills and professional values to drive their organisations forward.


Studying ACCA will provide students with the skills and knowledge to any relevant business, but more specifically in finance. Students are free to choose any type of accountancy role and ACCA will prepare you for a successful career in accounting, audit, tax or financial advisory. Most students study ACCA whilst working and they manage to obtain the qualification on average of three to four years.

To qualify for membership of ACCA, the student will need to achieve the full ACCA qualification. This means that the student is required to complete the following:

  • Pass 13 professional exams (listed below) unless you are eligible for certain exemptions;

  • The Practical Experience Requirement (PER), i.e. 36 months of experience in a relevant role gained before, during or after the examinations and achieve 9 performance objectives; and

  • Complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module.


Exam sittings for BT (Business & Technology), MA (Management Accounting) and FA (Financial Accounting) are on demand Computer Based Exams (CBEs). This means that these three modules are flexible and you can sit for the exam any week you like and get your results instantly. 

The rest of the ACCA exam sittings are run four times a year – in March, June, September and December except for the Maltese variant papers LW-MLA, TX-MLA and ATX-MLA. For the Maltese variant papers, a student can sit for the exam only during the June and December sittings.


Find out more information on exam preparation, exam delivery, exam fees and timetables including the different entry windows here.

ACCA Entry Requirements

Students are eligible to enrol on the ACCA Qualification if they have at least one of the following qualifications: 

  1. Fully completed Advanced Matriculation Certificate (AM) 

  2. Fully completed Matriculation Certificate Examination (from the University of Malta), including 2 passes [grades A-E] at Advanced Level & 3 passes at Intermediate level (Grade 1-7 is a pass. Grade U is a fail) 

  3. Institute of Financial Services Malta, Diploma in Banking and Financial Services 

  4. 2 passes at GCE A Levels / Cambridge Overseas Higher School Certificate [grades A-E] plus 3 passes at GCE O Level / Cambridge Overseas School Certificate [grades A-C /9-4] (in 5 separate subjects including English and Mathematics) 

  5. 2 Advanced level passes from part-complete Matriculation Certificate or Advanced Matriculation Certificate [grades A-E] plus 3 GCE O Level / Cambridge Overseas School Certificate [grades A-C / 9-4] or 3 passes from the Secondary Education Certificate (in 5 separate subjects including English and Mathematics) 

  6. MCAST Advanced Diploma


If a student has additional qualifications such as a relevant degree or postgraduate study then the student may also be able to claim exemptions from some exams. 

Abstract Linear Background

You do not have the minimum entry requirements?

No worries!
ACCA is still an option for you.

If you do not have the above entry requirements, ACCA still give everyone the opportunity to study with ACCA. A student can start his/her journey towards ACCA membership with the Foundation-level qualifications, referred as Foundations in Accountancy. The Foundations in Accountancy are the perfect place to start if an individual is new to accountancy or someone is already working in finance but have no qualifications.

bottom of page